Get CCSP Study Material for 100% Free!

Pursuing your career with CompTIA Cloud+ certification

CompTIA Cloud+ | eBook

CompTIA Cloud+ is the only performance-based IT certification that looks at cloud-based infrastructure services in the context of more extensive IT system operations, regardless of platform. Migrating to the cloud offers the opportunity to deploy, optimize and secure mission-critical applications and data storage. CompTIA Cloud+ validates the technical skills needed to protect this valuable asset.

The operating reality of multi-cloud environments creates new challenges. CompTIA Cloud+ is ideal for cloud engineers who need expertise in multiple products and systems.

CompTIA Cloud+ is the only cloud-focused certification approved for DoD 8570.01-M, offering an infrastructure option for individuals who need to be certified in IAM Level I, CSSP Analyst and CSSP Infrastructure Support roles.

Getting certified through CompTIA Cloud+

CompTIA’s Cloud+ certification has been refreshed; The CV0-002 exam will end in late 2021. It will be replaced by CV0-003 which went into effect on June 9, 2021. Compared to previous editions, the CompTIA Cloud+ certification exam (CV0-003) has expanded on security and availability, going into greater detail about the skills and capabilities required of professionals tasked with securing the cloud. The new test has five domains:

  1. Cloud deployment (23%): Covers the activities required for a successful migration to the cloud, including analyzing system requirements and, allocating cloud resources appropriately, aligning the system with the organization’s needs.
  2. Cloud Security (20%): Focuses on critical aspects of cybersecurity applied to cloud infrastructure, including access control technologies, encryption standards, tunnelling protocols, proper OS configuration, and virtualization.
  3. Cloud Architecture and Design (13%): Includes fundamental knowledge, skills and abilities to analyze multiple cloud models and implement one that best supports business needs.
  4. Operations and Support (22%): This segment focuses on cloud environments, automation, backup and recovery for high availability.
  5. Troubleshooting (22%): Focuses on solving capacity, automation, connectivity and security issues.

What does the CompTIA Cloud+ exam cover?

The CompTIA certification Cloud+ exam tests hands-on IT knowledge and skills. It integrates cloud computing capabilities across multi-vendor platforms, particularly the movement of databases, systems and applications across different cloud platforms. Cloud+ focuses on system administration tasks not limited by specific vendor functions or features. It offers 110 performance-based and multiple-choice questions (maximum) in 1 hour and 45 minutes. Cloud+ certification exam candidates are expected to prepare in the following areas:

  1. System configuration and deployment
  2. Cloud System Management
  3. A cloud computing instance and system maintenance
  4. Security Controls for Cloud Computing
  5. Cloud system troubleshooting

CompTIA Cloud+ Objectives

  1. Prepare to take and pass the CompTIA certification Cloud+ exam.
  2. A solid foundation in core cloud concepts, models and computing skills.
  3. How to implement and maintain virtualization, infrastructure, troubleshooting, resource management, security, systems management and business continuity.
  4. How to evaluate and establish network and storage security concepts and best practices in cloud environments.
  5. How to diagnose and optimize cloud computing performance.
  6. How to deploy and maintain hardware resources and enable virtual environments.

Course Description

Cloud concepts and models

contrasting cloud services and delivery models; Concept of conservation of matter.


install, configure and manage virtual machines and devices; Advantages of virtualization in cloud environments.


storage technology, configuration concepts and provisioning; Network configuration, optimization and basic connectivity troubleshooting.

Asset Management

resource monitoring techniques; Best practices for allocating physical host resources and virtual guest resources.


network security concepts, tools and best practices; Identify access control mechanisms and implement guest and host hardening techniques.

Business continuity in the cloud

Disaster recovery methods and concepts; Deploying solutions to meet availability requirements.

What types of jobs are available with CompTIA Cloud+ certification?

Cloud computing is a fast-growing and dynamic area within IT, so job titles often change according to oyer or industry norms. However, titles commonly associated with the CompTIA Cloud+ certification include:

  1. System Administrator
  2. Management Engineer
  3. Network Administrator
  4. Network Engineer
  5. Cloud developer
  6. Cloud expert
  7. Project Manager, Cloud
  8. Computing Services
  9. Cloud Engineer
  10. Manager, Data Center SANs
  11. Business Analyst, Cloud Computing

Benefits of CompTIA Cloud+ Certification

Benefits of Getting Certified with Cloud+ certification:

  1. Many companies like Microsoft, CompTIA, Novell, HP etc., have certification tracks that require CompTIA certification like A+.
  2. Many colleges and universities offer college credit to students who obtain CompTIA certification.
  3. Many companies and organizations mandate CompTIA certification for specific positions, and several job advertisements list certification as a primary requirement. Certified professionals earn more than non-certified IT professionals in the same job role.
  4. CompTIA certification is a great advantage, especially for candidates new to the IT field who want to boost their confidence. After getting a certificate, they get proof that will give them more credibility and determination to advance their career.


CompTIA’s vendor-neutral Cloud+ certification is a good choice for job applicants across platforms, and more established professionals in the field as more employers look for the right job applicant with cloud-related skills and knowledge.

As organizations adopt cloud technology at an unprecedented rate, now is an excellent time to get this highly regarded certification for a jumpstart or career advancement. Becoming certified CompTIA certification can prove your skills and knowledge in successful cloud deployments by mastering the five domains of the Cloud+ exam.

Related Posts

Fortinet Certification Path for 2024

Fortinet Certification Path for 2024

FacebookTweetLinkedIn Cybersecurity is important, and it drives the demand for skilled professionals. Fortinet, a cybersecurity leader, offers a detailed certification program to provide professionals with

Study material for 100% Free!

Your Gateway to Cybersecurity Excellence - No Cost Attached!