The Definitive Guide to ISACA Certification

ISACA Certification l cover

ISACA is a global professional organization dedicated to IT (information technology) governance. On its IRS filings, it is referred to as the Information Systems Audit and Control Association, albeit ISACA is currently only recognized by its abbreviation. ISACA presently offers eight certification programs as well as additional micro-certificates. ISACA was founded in the United States in 1967 when a group of professionals working on auditing controls in computer systems began to become increasingly critical of their organizations’ operations. They saw a need in the field for a centralized source of information and direction.

ISACA is a non-profit, independent authority representing IT professionals and providing certifications, training, and tools to help you advance your career and stand out. It has roughly 165,000 members worldwide, ranging from information systems or IT auditors to governance, security, risk experts, and C-suite executives.

Certifications Provided by ISACA

ISACA offers a variety of certification options aligned with various roles, skill sets and job responsibilities. The main ISACA certs are:

CISA (certified information systems auditor) 

The CISA certification is internationally recognized as the gold standard for individuals who audit, regulate, monitor, and assess an organization’s information technology and business systems. According to Foote Partners’ most recent quarterly IT Skills and Certifications Pay Index (ITSCPI), CISA is one of the most sought-after and highest-paying IT certifications. This certification is essential for entry-level to mid-level IT workers seeking to advance their careers.

CRISC (certified in risk and information systems control)

ISACA’s Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control™ (CRISC) this ISACA certification indicates expertise in identifying and managing enterprise IT risk and implementing and maintaining information systems controls. Gain instant recognition and credibility with CRISC and boost your career! If you are a mid-career IT professional focusing on IT and cyber risk and management, CRISC can get you the leverage you need to grow your career.

CISM (certified information security manager) 

The Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) credential from ISACA Certification denotes knowledge of information security governance, program development and management, incident management, and risk management. If you are a mid-career IT professional looking to advance to senior management roles in IT security and control, CISM can help.

CGEIT (certified in the governance of enterprise IT)

ISACA’s Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT) certification is unique and framework-independent. It is the only IT governance ISACA Certification that can teach you how to assess, design, implement, and manage enterprise IT governance systems aligned with overall business objectives. CGEIT may help you gain awareness at the executive level!

CDPSE (certified data privacy solutions engineer)

Modern privacy rules and regulations compel enterprises to build privacy into IT systems, networks, and apps by design and default. To do this, privacy specialists must collaborate with software developers, system and network engineers, application and database administrators, and project managers to incorporate data privacy and security safeguards into new and existing technology settings.

Who can take ISACA Certification?

Job roles that can benefit from ISACA certifications are:

  • IT Managers.
  • Project Managers.
  • Business Managers.
  • Risk Management Professionals.
  • Regulators.
  • Security Consultants.
  • Program Managers.
  • Security and Compliance Professionals.
  • GRC Professionals.
  • Security Auditors.
  • System Security Architects.
  • Information Security Managers.
  • ISO Professionals.
  • Network Architects.
  • Anybody who wants to gain a proper understanding of ISACA’s popular certification courses.
  • Professionals looking to clear their relevant ISACA certification exams.

The ISACA Certification Procedure

  • Professionals can obtain ISACA certification by enrolling in any of their widely popular IT Security and Governance training programs. 
  • The steps to becoming an ISACA-certified professional are as follows:
  • Choose an ISACA course that will provide the most value.
  • Choose a schedule and periods that are appropriate for your needs.
  • Read through the pre-reading materials offered by Koenig Solutions and the ISACA regulating body to prepare for your actual ISACA training.
  • Attend your ISACA course, clear your doubts, and begin studying for the certification exam.
  • Take as many sample practice tests as possible to prepare for your ISACA certification exam.
  • Become an ISACA Certified Professional to advance your IT Security and Governance 

The Advantages of ISACA Certification Training

  • Showcase and validate your knowledge of the most recent IT security and governance best practices.
  • Assist organizations in adopting and implementing IT security and governance frameworks aligned with business objectives.
  • Learn how to use IT security-related technologies and processes to assist organizations and professionals undergoing a substantial cultural shift in delivering products and services to customers.
  • Increase the breadth of your profession with popular IT Security / Cybersecurity certification courses such as COBIT 5, COBIT 2019, CISA, CISM, CRISC, CGEIT, and many more.
  • Increase your compensation by at least 22% with ISACA certification credentials and boost your on-the-job performance by 70%.
  • Start your career on the right foot with ISACA certification courses that will help you gain credibility in interactions with stakeholders, regulators, and colleagues.
  • ISACA-certified professionals are more likely to be retained than non-certified counterparts.
  • Demonstrate your ability to evaluate corporate vulnerabilities, security, and control mechanisms.

Salary prospects for ISACA Certified Professionals

There is an excellent demand for ISACA certification courses by professionals and enterprises to navigate this challenging digital business environment. Let’s take a look at the salary prospects of ISACA Certified Professionals.

United States=USD 99,000 to USD 135,000

United Kingdom=Pounds 45,000 to 67,000

India=Rupees 7 lakhs to 20 lakhs 

Australia=AUD 80,000 to 122,000 

UAE=AED 171,000 to 303,000

Singapore=SGD 42,000 to 93,000


IT professionals must be on the cutting edge of technological advancements. They must also understand how such changes affect the firm and how to best match new technology with business goals to maintain a competitive advantage. ISACA certification substantially aids in keeping up with these changes and showcasing your ability to make the most of technology. The ISACA examinations are difficult. They will put your skills to the test in many areas of IT governance, risk management, and information security and can help you further your career.

Related Posts

Related Posts


Prepare for your PCNSA and PCNSE Exams with Confidence.

Are you a Security Engineer with experience managing the Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls? Did you know that Glassdoor released a certified Security Engineer for Palo Alto Networks that can earn an average of $173K annually? To validate their skills, every Security Engineer managing Palo Alto Networks Firewalls must have certifications.